top of page
Jure Zovko
Jure Zuvko.jpg

Full Professor of Philosophy of Science and Epistemology, University of Zadar, Mihovila Pavlinovića 1,  23000 Zadar 

Email: jzovko[at]


Jure Zovko, born on November 20, 1957 in Široki Brijeg (Bosnia and Herzegovina), studied philosophy, German, and philosophy of religion at the universities of Sarajevo (1978-1980) and Freiburg im Breisgau, where he completed his M.A. in 1985 and his Ph.D. in 1989 with the dissertation Verstehen und Nichtverstehen. Zur Entstehung und Bedeutung der Schlegelschen hermeneutischen Kritik, both under the direction of PD Dr. Michael Elsässer. Since 1990 Zovko has conducted research at the Institute for Philosophy, Zagreb. He is a lecturer at and co-founder of the interdisciplinary program in: Croatian Studies at the University of Zagreb (Department of Philosophy, undergraduate and graduate studies program, since 1992). From 1993-2000, he was Deputy Minister for Science and Technology of the Republic of Croatia. He has been Professor for Ontology at the Faculty of Philosophy of the University of Zadar since 2000 (undergraduate and graduate program). He has been a guest professor in Vienna,  Mainz, Tübingen, Münster and Sarajevo. He was a Summer Scholar at the Center for Hellenic Studies, Washington, D.C., 1999. His research specialisation includes: Hermeneutics, Ancient Greek philosophy, German Idealism, Philosophy of Science. He is co-editor, with Andreas Arndt (Berlin), of the international philosophical journals Studia hermeneutica (Parerga Berlin),  Studia philosophica Iaderensia (Wehrhahn Hannover), Hegel-Jahrbuch (Walter de Gruyter Berlin;  

Duncker & Humblot Berlin) and Hegel-Forschungen (Walter de Gruyter Berlin, Duncker & Humblot Berlin). 

He is since 2008 a permanent member of Institut international de philosophie (Paris) and  since 2010. titulaires member of L' Académie Internationale de Philosophie des Sciences (Bruxelles). Since 2010 he is vice-president of Internationale Hegel-Gesellschaft. He was  a president of Comité de cooptation de Institut International de philosophie (2015-2018) and the assesor  of  the Academic Council of Académie Internationale de Philosophie des Sciences (2015-2018).

He is since 2018 vice-president of Institut international de philosophie (Paris) and  a member of Steering Committee of FISP (Fédération Internationale des Sociétés de Philosophie). He is a member of Deutsche Gesellschaft für Religionsphilosophie; International Plato Society,  Internationale Hegel-Gesellschaft, Schlegel-Gesellschaft.

bottom of page